Members

Cellos 2006

The orchestra rehearses on Mondays from 19:30 to 22:00 at Bishop Justus CE School, Magpie Hall Lane, Bromley BR2 8HZ. We welcome applications from prospective members and ask new members to complete an address form and Gift Aid declaration at their first rehearsal. We collect an annual subscription from members who attend rehearsals (with a 50% discount for students). Seating positions are rotated where possible and there are opportunities to perform solo parts.

Playing members commit to the full rehearsal series for each concert they play in. If an absence is unavoidable please contact your section leader immediately, and if you were due to rehearse a solo part, please find a deputy. Members are also expected to put in the necessary time outside rehearsals to learn and practise the pieces they perform, and to promote ticket sales for all the orchestra’s concerts. 

Please bring a music stand to rehearsals. Bowed string parts are available after the first rehearsal and string players mark up their own parts.

There is a mailing list for members, a facebook members group ‘BSO Tutti‘, an official facebook page to like and follow, a twitter feed @BromleySymphony and an Instagram account bromleysymphony. Tea, coffee and biscuits are available for 50p at rehearsals. Some members socialise at The Two Doves in Oakley Road after rehearsals and The Railway in West Wickham after concerts.

Join us

We currently have vacancies for a co-principal trombone and harps of approximately grade 8 standard (most other instruments have a waiting list). No formal audition.

Monday 9th Sep, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 16th Sep, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 23rd Sep, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 30th Sep, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 7th Oct, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 14th Oct, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 28th Oct, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 4th Nov, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Saturday 9th Nov, 2019
14:00 - 17:00

Langley Park Centre for the Performing Arts

Rehearsal

Saturday 9th Nov, 2019
19:30 - 21:30

Langley Park Centre for the Performing Arts

Orchestration and concert order 9th Nov 2019

Berlioz: Overture: ‘Le Corsaire’. Op. 21. Library Set Kalmus. 8 mins.
2.2.2.4.  4.2Tr.2Cor.3.1.  T. Str. 

Brahms: Violin Concerto in D major. Op.77. Library Set Kalmus. 38 mins.
2.2.2.2. 4.2.0.0.  T. Str.

John Senter: ‘Proem’. Parts from AB. 10 mins.
Picc.2.2.CA.2.BCl.2. Con. 4.3.3.1. T. 3 Perc players. (Sus Cym,Cym, SD,Tamb,Tri,Xylo.) Hp. Str.

Sibelius: Symphony No. 5. Op.82. Parts from Hire Hansen.30 mins
2.2.2.2.  4.3.3.0. T. Str.

Monday 11th Nov, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 18th Nov, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 25th Nov, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 2nd Dec, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 9th Dec, 2019
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 6th Jan, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 13th Jan, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 20th Jan, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Saturday 25th Jan, 2020
14:00 - 17:00

Langley Park Centre for the Performing Arts

Rehearsal

Saturday 25th Jan, 2020
19:30 - 21:30

Langley Park Centre for the Performing Arts

Orchestration and concert order 25th Jan 2020

Mozart: Overture: ‘The Magic Flute’ K.620. Parts from AB. 7 mins.
2.2.2.2.   2.2.3.0. T. Str.

Vaughan Williams: Symphony No.6. Parts hire from OUP. 31 mins.
3(picc.).3(CA). 3(BCl./Tenor Sax). 3(Con). 4.3.3.1. T. 3 Perc players. (SD,Cym,Xylo,BD,Tri,Sus Cym.). Hp. Str.

Tchaikovsky: Suite No.3 in G. Op.55.  Library Hire. Kalmus/Simrock. 41 mins.
3(picc).3(CA).2.2.  4.2.3.1.  T. 3Perc Players. (SD,BD,Tamb,Tri,Cym.) Hp. Str.

Monday 3rd Feb, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 10th Feb, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 24th Feb, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Tuesday 25th Feb, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Note Tuesday

Rehearsal

Monday 2nd Mar, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 9th Mar, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Saturday 14th Mar, 2020
14:00 - 17:00

Langley Park Centre for the Performing Arts

Rehearsal

Saturday 14th Mar, 2020
19:30 - 21:30

Langley Park Centre for the Performing Arts

Orchestration and concert order 14th March 2020

Maunders: Bacchanale
Triple Wind. 4.3.3.1. T. Hp. Perc. Str. Parts from D Griffiths. 10 min.

Tippett: Concerto for Double String Orchestra. Parts Hire Schotts. 23 mins.
Strings only.

Prokofiev: Symphony No.5. op.100. Parts hire from Boosey’s. 46 mins.
3(Picc).3(CA).4(BCl.Eflat). 3(Con).  4.3.3.1. T. 5 Perc.Players. (SD,Tamb,Tri,Cym,BD,TT, WoodBlock). Hp. Pf. Str.

Monday 16th Mar, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 23rd Mar, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 30th Mar, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 20th Apr, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Monday 27th Apr, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Tuesday 5th May, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Note Tuesday

Rehearsal

Monday 11th May, 2020
19:30 - 22:00

Bishop Justus CE School

Rehearsal

Saturday 16th May, 2020
14:00 - 17:00

Langley Park Centre for the Performing Arts

Rehearsal

Saturday 16th May, 2020
19:30 - 21:30

Langley Park Centre for the Performing Arts

Orchestration and concert order 16th May 2020

Wagner: Overture: ‘The Flying Dutchman’  Library Set. Kalmus.  11 mins.
3(picc). 2(CA). 2.2.   4.2.3.1. T. Hp. Str.

Strauss: ‘Macbeth’   op.23. Hire from Peters. Poss Kalmus. 18 mins.
3(picc).3(CA).3(BCl.). 3(Con). 4.4. (Bass Trumpet). 3.1. T. 2 Perc.Players. (Cym,BD,SD, TT.).  Str.

Patterson: ‘Orchestra on  Parade’.  Parts from Patterson. 6 mins.
Picc.2.2.2.2.  4.2.3.1. T. Hp. 3 Perc. Players. (Mark Tree, Tubular Bells, Whip,Xylo, Tri,SD,Glock,Tamb, Cyms, Vibraslap,Temple Block, Claves,BD,Sus Cym.TT,). Str.

Mendelssohn: Symphony No.3 ‘Scottish’. Libray Set or Baerenreiter. 40 mins.
2.2.2.2.  4.2.0.0. T. Str.

Monday 18th May, 2020
20:00 - 22:30

Bishop Justus CE School

AGM