Saturday 19th March 2011 at 7:45pm

Carl Nielsen
Carl Nielsen
Complete programme in PDF formatWalton ‘Spitfire Prelude and Fugue’

Sibelius ‘Violin Concerto’
    Soloist Anna-Liisa Bezrodny

Nielsen ‘Symphony No.5’ 

The opening item comes from Walton’s music written for the 1942 film ‘The First of the Few’. Sibelius’s only concerto, in turn stormy and tense, quiet and lyrical, and with a dazzling dancing finale, demands forceful dramatic playing from the soloist. Nielsen’s Fifth, widely regarded as his greatest masterpiece, portrays conflict with disturbing but exhilarating power: the contrast between darkness and light, ominous militarism and peace, evil and good, which eventually leads to an affirmative conclusion.


Saturday 19th Mar, 2011    


The Great Hall, Ravensbourne School
Hayes Lane, Bromley, BR2 9EH
Loading Map....